top of page

DIY Harry Potter Directional Sign Post

Everyone who knows me personally is very well aware that I am a huge Harry Potter (HP) movie fan. I break out my Hogwarts uniform and interactive wand every time I get a chance, and I have watched each movie so many times that I can recite lines while watching. So of course it was only right that this Halloween, I pay a tribute to my love for the wizarding world in our decor. Almost every piece of my Halloween decor is not only HP inspired but a DIY, and I absolutely love it. This project was super easy and all about having fun for me. After creating a TikTok page for this blog, I used my first video to display my seasonal decor change from fall to Halloween (check it out below), which I reposted onto the Mya the Milso Instagram account. A few of my followers messaged me about the Harry Potter directional signpost I have in the corner. So I figured I would make a post to tell those interested exactly how to make one of your own. For those of you who have not seen what I'm talking about, here it is:




I can not take full credit for this idea, I originally saw Halloween themed location signs that were not Harry Potter themed on Pinterest with places such as Sleepy Hallow and Elm Street. These signs were also usually made out of wood, but I assumed that it would be easier and faster for me to recreate the entire thing out of cardboard. Considering my husband and I recently moved to our new base, we had tons of cardboard boxes on hand, but for those who don’t, any medium or large size boxes will do. This project cost me a total of only $4.48, with items from the dollar store (excluding the price of tax and boxes), and is an amazing addition to our space! This is my first time offering step-by-step directions like this, but I definitely tried my best. Here is how to make a post of your own:


Items Needed:

  • Black Acrylic Paint (I was able to use just one 2fl oz bottle)

  • Brown Kraft paper

  • 3 medium cardboard boxes

  • White Paint Marker

  • Pencil

  • Box Cutter

  • Ruler

  • Packing tape (But any other strong tape should work fine)

  1. The first thing you should do is create the base. For this, all you need to do is fold and tape one of the boxes. I recommend taping the top of the box shut through the inside, which will make the paint job easier and prettier.

  2. Next, lay a different box longways and make it completely flat. Use the ruler to sketch and cut out three straight strips of the cardboard (make sure you make the strips in the longest direction, this will add height). The first two strips will be the post that you will put your location signs on, the extra strip will provide support so it can stand on its own. I made my strips about 4 inches thick but how thick you make them is completely up to your preference. Place the two cut strips above one another vertically, overlapping the two just a little, and tape them together. You will need to wrap the tape around a few times. Then put the last strip behind the two, and center it in the spot where you taped them. Lastly, tape the three together in the middle, as well as one inch from the top and the bottom of the third strip.

  3. Lay the last box flat and sketch the desired shape of each sign onto it. I freehanded the shapes so each one could be slightly different and to guarantee there was enough space for every word, but you could also print out a template and trace it. The number of location signs you can fit will depend on the desired size, shape, and placement of your signs. Then cut them all out.

  4. Take the base and sign shapes that you have created and paint them all black, I needed two coats on the base, but only one on the signs.

  5. While the paint dries, wrap the long post in the kraft paper completely, taping it down.

  6. Once all of the paint is dry, use a pencil to write the names of your favorite Wizard World locations onto each sign. This is to make sure the names fit and to avoid mistakes with the paint. After the writing is to your liking, trace over each word using the white paint marker.

  7. Measure the length and width of the post. Use those measurements to create a slot on the top of the base, two inches away from the edge.

  8. Slide the post into the slot you’ve created in the base. Then tape each location sign onto the post the way you desire.

Now, you’re all done! Add any other decorations or additions you may like. Place it where you think is best, and be proud of your creation!


Seasonal decor change video:





Comments


IMG_4363.jpg

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

I'm the person behind the blog, Mya Davis! I am a young military wife who loves to create! I'm often trying to find new recipes, crafts, but I've often struggled to find a relatable website tailored for the everyday young person. So I simply created my own! Scroll through, and enjoy!

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Pinterest
bottom of page